Riccardo Chailly conducts Bruckner’s Sixth Symphony

Riccardo Chailly’s performances of Bruckner are famous for their unusual transparency and streamlined energy. In the Sixth Symphony, which Bruckner himself described as his “boldest”, these qualities are shown to their best advantage. Sinewy strength also dominates in his performance of the Italian Symphony by Felix Mendelssohn who, incidentally, was a predecessor of Chailly as head of the Gewandhaus Orchestra.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Riccardo Chailly

Programme Guide

© 2013 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Riccardo Chailly conductor
Felix Mendelssohn composer
Anton Bruckner composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy